French Pressed and Loving It

Of course my first post is going to be about coffee…

I wake up in the morning to the chirping of… my cat. You thought I was gonna say “birds” didn’t you? Nope. My cat. One of the two in particular “chirps” to wake me up. Most of the time it annoys the hell out of me, but sometimes it’s cute.  Either way I look at it, it’s the first step to me getting my go go juice in the morning. So, I drag my half asleep carcass down the stairs and into the kitchen, but first things first, I have to feed the heathens. Once they  are nibbling on their kitty food, it’s go time. I break out my French press and get to business. I am going to help you brew the perfect cup of coffee with your French press so you can experience the heaven to which I am referring.

First you start with whole bean coffee. If you don’t have a grinder, invest in one, you’ll love it. Grind the beans to a coarse grind. It shouldn’t be a fine grind… it can clog up the screen on the press. In a standard size press, I would use about 4 tablespoons of coffee.

Second, pour your “not boiling anymore” hot water in the press on top of your ground coffee.

Third… the stir. I prefer to let mine sit for about 4 minutes before I stir it. Some prefer to stir then let it sit for 4 minutes. Either way, it’s gonna need a stir and 4 minutes. At this point, you can put the lid on the press and push the plunger down (slowly). This will push the grinds down and the coffee up through the screen.

Finally, once the plunger is all of the way down, you grab yourself a mug, or whatever preferred method of getting this amazing concoction into your body, and pour. Then you drink and drink some more…and maybe some more if you have time or at least fix yourself a to-go cup!

Wash. Rinse. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

